Peterborough has become one of my favourite race venues for a couple reasons:
1. The venue is set in a beautiful park, with trees, ponds, a beech and lake for swimming. This is great for spectators as it adds to the enjoyment of the day for them.
2. The spectators - my personal support crew ;-) Because of its close location, whenever I have raced Peterborough I have always had a great show of support. It so great to have familiar faces and voices cheering you on. I don't ever expect people to show up, but when they do, I love it!
3. The course - its a great lay-out. 2 loop swim in a nice lake. Great out and back ride on rolling terrain and smooth roads. Challenging run course with hills and heat (ok, I don't love the hills or the heat, but without those it'd be too perfect, right!?
On to the race... I normally wouldn't mention this, but this was the first triathlon I ever showed up too with Jodie and Brynlie at the same time as me, all in one vehicle!! :-) This was an achievement in and of itself. Last year, Brynlie was too young to really grasp it all, so Jodie would either skip races or show up with the other vehicle as races were in progress (due to Brynlie sleeping in or us not having enough room for baby gear and race gear in one vehicle!) Well, with her a year older, and with a new family van for us, both problems were solved - I love it!
Pre-race was fairly uneventful. Brynlie had picked up a cold 2 days before, and I had felt it a little bit. I hit the medicine pretty hard the night before, and woke up at 5am feeling o.k. I brushed my teeth, and had what would be the first of a few dry heaves. I brushed it off, and thought, hopefully its just nerves, and no biggy.
At the race site, the sun was out and it was apparent we were in for a scorcher. The forecast had said something like 32 degrees, feeling like 37! I set up my gear in transition, chatted with a few friends before the race, and in no time I was putting on the wetsuit and giving my last minute hugs to all the family who were there to watch and support (SHOUT OUT TO - Wifey, Brynlie, Mom, Dad, Bro, Sis-in-law, Cousin Brittany - flying in from Edmonton for a well timed holiday, and Zion). There were also other friends there watching other racers, who I knew, plus my uncle Lindsay was racing, so his family was there to watch as well.. needless to say we did not lack support! Very cool, thanks guys.
SWIM-
I made way into the water and found a spot amongst the 450 or so racers. The horn sounded, and we were off! Normally the swim is uneventful for me, but the first 3 to 400m of this one were pretty physical to say the least! Lots of jostling and bumping for position - usually this isn't much of an issue, as I'm a bigger guy, so I seem to make a way for myself pretty easily (people usually avoid me), but this time it took a lot longer to find some room. I made an effort to try and follow some feet of the faster swimmers, and was able to have a couple of nice stretches like this. Once we made the first turn around on loop 1, things thinned out, and space was easier to find. Loop 2 of swim was smooth, except for another dry heave, oh well keep swimming. I found a groove and just tried to stay relaxed. Soon I was out of the water for good. My feet found the beach, and I looked quickly down at my watch - 31 something, nice I can work with that! I begin taking the wetsuit off as I make the 100m (or so) run to transition.
2000 M Swim time - 32:09 (1:37/100m).
T1-
I find my bike, peel the wetsuit off the legs, grab some gels and salt pills for my rear shirt pockets, put the sunglasses on, helmet on, and go.
Time - 1:01
In T1, getting the wetsuit off.
BIKE -
Out of transition I hop on the bike and get moving. After about 25 meters of riding, I slip my feet into my shoes which are already on my pedals. Usually on the first 10km of the bike, I can struggle to find a rhythm as my heart is usually racing from the swim. Today, I seemed to get in the groove almost instantly. It wasn't too long until I knew I was having a good ride. The legs felt good, and was feeling comfortable. I passed some guys on the way out, but not many were passing me. Oh, I had another heave early on the bike ride, but this time it wasn't dry! Apparently I ate one bite too many at breakfast ;-) No big deal, spit it out, felt better and kept riding. Thankfully, this was the last of any heaves!
As I approached the turn around on the bike course, I was able to get an idea of where I was in the race. It was looking good. I did a rough count of the guys going back ahead of me, and knew it was less than 20. Stay calm, I thought. There is along way to go. When I made the turn, I glanced at my watch and it showed I was on pace for a 2:22ish bike split. This was more than I expected, so on the way back I just focused on staying fueled and relaxed. I didn't want to get caught up in having a great bike time at the expense of a lousy run. The ride back into town was good. The wind did pick up, and was in our face or across the bike for most of the way, which added to the challenge. I still felt that I was feeling good, and as the bike ended I was thinking - 'Man, I got a good one going today, I hope I haven't gone too hard? How will my legs feel running? Have I fueled well, or will cramps overtake my legs? I approached transition again, took the feet out of the shoes, spotted my family cheering me in and coasted to the dismount line.
90KM Bike Time - 2:26:11 (36.9km/hr)
Heading out onto the bike.
T2 -
This was quick. Rack the bike, remove the helmet, put on 1 sock, 1 shoe, repeat for the other foot, grab my hat, and go.
T2 - 00:47secs
Picture coming back in from the bike course. A little wave to my family, as I navigate my way to the dismount line :)
Funny note - while I was in T2, I hear my brother shout to me, 'Bro you killed that bike, you're like up with pros!'. I smiled, and quietly called him a loser, because - A) that's what brother do, and B) He was exaggerating and C) There was lots of racing yet to be done!
RUN-
I left transition, the legs felt good. No pain, no cramps... this is good. Early on I just tried to stay smooth. I saw my coach and a few friends about 150m into the run, and they were yelling support. Coach, reminded me to drink lots - "its hot out there, in case you hadn't noticed", she said with a smile. The first couple km's of the run go around the park where the spectators hang out. At about 2km, I was able to see all my family, and spotted Angela holding Brynlie (my daughter). She held her hand out, and I was able to give her a wave and a high-five as I ran along - this was the highlight of the day for sure :-)
Just prior to giving the high-five, I get to wave to her and my family.
After about 4km or so, you leave the park and head out onto the roads. The rest of the run is a straight out and back with several hills, hot pavement and no shade. I knew it was only getting hotter, so I just wanted to keep moving and get it done. I hit each aid station taking water all the way, and mixing it with flattened coke or Gatorade. My stomach felt good and I was maintaining a pretty good groove. When I hit some of the steeper hills my lower back got tight. This isn't fun, but I just shortened my stride, attempted to use my arms, and kept the feet turning over. I hit the run turnaround, and had managed not to do any walking so far. It was hot. I took a couple of salt pills and washed them down with water at the next aid station, to stay proactive - I was afraid I would have leg cramps in this heat, as I have in past hot races (this doesn't happen to everyone, but it is the case for me). As I made the way back to the finish I took encouragement knowing that it was shorter, because the turnaround was at about the 13km mark. On the way back the hills did not get easier. My back was not enjoying it, but I had to keep moving. I saw lots of runners going out the other way, and many were looking spent. Lots of people were suffering in the heat, and walking. I didn't want to give in. Press on. No walking, I actually never really considered it.
I spotted a few of my friends on the run course and we tried to share support with each other as we made our way. Kilometers 19 and 20 were the toughest. The last couple of hills to manage and so being close, but not done yet. I pushed through, and finally felt the lift from hitting the home stretch. As I approached the park, I spotted my dad, who upon seeing me, began running back to the finish line to let the others know of my arrival (and to see my actual finish). I rounded the last corner, down the finish chute, and crossed the line to feel the sweet joy of finishing. I looked up at the clock, and saw 4:37xx, and knew I had completed a big PB (personal best). My previous best on this course was a 4:53, so upon crossing the line, it was great to share the moment with all of my family; especially my wife and daughter who gladly support me day after day, so I can put together weeks upon weeks of solid training. I couldn't do it without their support!
21.1KM Run Time- 1:37:28 (4:38/km)
FINISH TIME - 4:37:34
17th Overall, 5th in my Age Group.... and already getting Brynlie used to having a medal around her neck! :-)
Overall, it was a great day. Prior to the race, I had set out A/B/C goals times or standards that I thought might be possible. I won't share them all, but the 'A' finish time I wrote out, was a 4:35. I thought on a really good day I might be able to hit that, but actually thought a 4:40-4:45 was more likely. I missed that 'A' standard by about 2 and half minutes, and but thats o.k. with me. It was a hot day, and given some of my previous bad heat races, I'm pleased with the execution. Is there room for improvement? You bet. I could have rode quicker, but I wasn't willing to risk it at the expense of a lousy run. I'll keep work'n the bike lots. I know I have more run fitness to be gained, so that will be a focus over the next 4 more months of solid training before Ironman Florida as well.
Thanks for taking the time to read this, and also for the support from my family and friends!
Jon
PS - Sorry this was so long - the good news is, next weeks race is a shorter distance and is also my last one for a while! ;-)
No comments:
Post a Comment