Sunday, July 18, 2010

Quinte Race Report and Progress Report

Well, better late than never right?  These past 2 weeks have been quite busy with the regular routines of life, plus 2 races and also hosting my cousin Brittany at our house for 2 weeks as well :)  I'm settling back into my normal groove, and have a few moments so I thought I'd do a quick right up on last weeks race and my current outlook on training. 

QUINTE RACE REPORT

Last Sunday, I raced an Olympic Distance Triathlon (1500m/40km/10km) in the Town of Batawa.  Its a small little race, but my good friends and coach are the race directors and the out on a great event and I love to support them.  It was also made extra special by the huge fan support I had!  Due to its location and shorter duration, I had quite a following of support show up to the race: Wife, mom, dad, brother, sis-in-law, their dog Zion, Brother-in-law, his girlfriend, 3 cousins and an Aunt! (yes uncle Lindsay was racing as well :-)  It was pretty cool and funny to have so many people at such a small little race, but it made it extra fun.  I think the last time I knew that many people watching was when I did my first Ironman in 2007 at Lake Placid.

The race started off with 14 of us doing the Olympic distance race - I told you it was small :)  There were others doing a shorter distance and some doing a duathlon (run-bike-run) as well.  I didn't know all of the people I was racing, but I had marked 2 racers to watch out for, that I suspected to be near the front of the race.  One athlete, Angela Lilly is a great swimmer.  She is also a former Kona finisher and routinely wins or podiums in her age group and overall for women.  The other, Jamie, was a buddy who I occasionally see at the local pool and races shorter races regularly, but we had never done the same race against each other yet.

I had marked Ang as the top swimmer, so when the horn sounded to start the race I tried to stay as close to her as possible.  This lasted for the first 200 or so meters, but then she put on a spurt, and made sure that I couldn't tuck in behind her and draft on her feet :)  I watched her slowly pull away, and saw no one else between us.  It was a pretty lonely swim - a stark contrast from an Ironman swim with 2500+ people all around you!  At the swim turn around, it looked like Ang had about a 100m gap on me.  No one else was in front, but somebody was right behind me.  I could feel their fingers touching my tows with regular frequency.  About every couple of minutes, they would make contact.  I had no clue who it was, but I was jealous!  I wanted to draft off someone, and they were drafting off me! :-)   As I exited the water, the unknown drafter came along side me and passed.  It was another female competitor who I did not know.  As I made my way through T1, I knew it was me and her, with Ang out in front.

Once on the bike, I passed the other girl who was on my feet in the water and moved into second.  The bike course at this race is especially tough in the first 10km's with lots of hills, including one beast with a 12% grade.  I struggled to find any rhythm on the bike.  I spotted Ang in the distance by about the 5km mark.  I tried to settle into a rhythm but it was not happening very easily.  I would go on to mini-puke 3 times while on the bike... not sure why, I wasn't sick, but I just wasn't comfortable.  I was slowly making time up on Ang, and when we made the turn around to come back, I was within 200 meters of her.  On the way back I was looking out for Jaime.  I had not seen him yet, and knew he was a pretty strong rider, and a stronger runner.  I passed Ang at around the 25km mark, and found myself at the front of the race, with a pretty good gap between us and the rest of the field.  This was a pretty cool feeling, though I couldn't help but feel 'hunted' with a big target on my back :)

As I continued to ride, I saw my uncle who yelled out some great support to me.  I saw no sign of Jaime, so I figured that by this point he had a mechanical issue and had dropped out (he confirmed this after the race with a flat tire at the 2km mark - I was bummed by this, because he's a great athlete and deserved a better fortune.)  Back into T2, I was off the bike, changed the shoes, and hit the run course.

The run course here is a short 2 point something loop that you do 4 times!  Its kinda cool because you get to see your competition and any changes in gaps as the races goes on.  Its also great for spectators, because they see lots of the action, and since I had lots of support, I could here them every 10 minutes or so cheering me on!  I was feeling pretty tired on the run.  Having raced the week before in Peterborough, I was feeling a little flat.  The support from my dad and the rest of the gang, was great to hear, because it was tough going.  After the first lap, it seemed like I was holding off Ang, and didn't know of anyone else making a charge.  Then as I was finishing the second loop, a guy came flying up on me!  I could hear his steps, and knew he was moving.  I made a feeble attempt to go with him, but knew I couldn't sustain it, so I had to let him go.  Where did he come from I thought?  Is he in first now?  I guess so, but how did he make up so much time?  I had no answer for these questions, and figured I could only keep racing my race.  I held my tempo, and as each lap went, I saw the gap between me and Ang growing, so I knew no one else was closing in.  I wanted to go faster, but I didn't have the extra gear.  It was fairly hot, and I just tried to stay cool and manage the race.  As I made my way to the finish of my last loop, the guy who passed me headed out again.  I was puzzled.  I said 'hey, you're done aren't you?'  He replied, 'nope I still have another loop!'  I was puzzled and happy all at the same time.  As I made my way down the finish area, it was clear I was the first finisher and had won the race.  It was a cool feeling, with so many of my family members their to share in the moment.   Coming into the finish...



When I was finished I was spent! :-)



 To be honest, I was more pleased with my Peterborough race than this one.  I know there are faster guys out there, but I was honored to win the race just  the same.  I spotted the faster runner post race, and congratulated him on a great run split (fastest of the day for sure).  Fortunately for me, he confessed that swimming is not a strength of his, and I was able to put a enough time on him in the water and on the bike to stay ahead.  For my reward, I received a new watch, and free entry into a trail running race, that is the week after Ironman Florida! :-) ( I think I may just show up to that one and eat the food!! :-)

TRAINING UPDATE:

I'll make this short and sweet: 16 WEEKS!!!  That is the countdown to Ironman Florida.  I am ready to keep pressing on, and I know the hardest work is ahead of me.  At the least, I hope to blog updates every 4 weeks, as that is how I will break the training down.   My current self assessment would go something like this:
Swim - on track given the time put in, and will improve as I build this up.  To date, swim training has been fairly easy, with the exception of the 1 week when I did 5 workouts.
Bike - Great gains made so far! On track.  Must maintain them, and hopefully find some more gains still :)
Run - Mixed feelings.  Gains made for sure.  I Pb'd the run split in Peterborough, which was great.  That being said, if I'm gonna compete for a Kona slot in Florida, here is where I have to improve the most in the next 16 weeks.

Time to go to work.  Thanks for reading, 
Jon


Monday, July 5, 2010

Peterborough 1/2 IM Race Report

Well, my first triathlon of 2010 is in the books!  First I have to say thank you to all those who have already sent there words of encouragement and support!  I really appreciate it all, and it is extra sweet to share these moments with friends and family!!

Peterborough has become one of my favourite race venues for a couple reasons:
1.  The venue is set in a beautiful park, with trees, ponds, a beech and lake for swimming.  This is great for spectators as it adds to the enjoyment of the day for them.
2.  The spectators - my personal support crew ;-)  Because of its close location, whenever I have raced Peterborough I have always had a great show of support.  It so great to have familiar faces and voices cheering you on.  I don't ever expect people to show up, but when they do, I love it!
3.  The course - its a great lay-out.  2 loop swim in a nice lake.  Great out and back ride on rolling terrain and smooth roads.  Challenging run course with hills and heat (ok, I don't love the hills or the heat, but without those it'd be too perfect, right!?

On to the race...  I normally wouldn't mention this, but this was the first triathlon I ever showed up too with Jodie and Brynlie at the same time as me, all in one vehicle!! :-)  This was an achievement in and of itself.  Last year, Brynlie was too young to really grasp it all, so Jodie would either skip races or show up with the other vehicle as races were in progress (due to Brynlie sleeping in or us not having enough room for baby gear and race gear in one vehicle!)  Well, with her a year older, and with a new family van for us, both problems were solved - I love it!

Pre-race was fairly uneventful.  Brynlie had picked up a cold 2 days before, and I had felt it a little bit.  I hit the medicine pretty hard the night before, and woke up at 5am feeling o.k.  I brushed my teeth, and had what would be the first of a few dry heaves.  I brushed it off, and thought, hopefully its just nerves, and no biggy.
At the race site, the sun was out and it was apparent we were in for a scorcher.  The forecast had said something like 32 degrees, feeling like 37!   I set up my gear in transition, chatted with a few friends before the race, and in no time I was putting on the wetsuit and giving my last minute hugs to all the family who were there to watch and support (SHOUT OUT TO - Wifey, Brynlie, Mom, Dad, Bro, Sis-in-law, Cousin Brittany - flying in from Edmonton for a well timed holiday, and Zion).  There were also other friends there watching other racers, who I knew, plus my uncle Lindsay was racing, so his family was there to watch as well.. needless to say we did not lack support!  Very cool, thanks guys.



SWIM-
I made way into the water and found a spot amongst the 450 or so racers.  The horn sounded, and we were off!  Normally the swim is uneventful for me, but the first 3 to 400m of this one were pretty physical to say the least!  Lots of jostling and bumping for position - usually this isn't much of an issue, as I'm a bigger guy, so I seem to make a way for myself pretty easily (people usually avoid me), but this time it took a lot longer to find some room.  I made an effort to try and follow some feet of the faster swimmers, and was able to have a couple of nice stretches like this.  Once we made the first turn around on loop 1,  things thinned out, and space was easier to find.  Loop 2 of swim was smooth, except for another dry heave, oh well keep swimming.  I found a groove and just tried to stay relaxed.  Soon I was out of the water for good.  My feet found the beach, and I looked quickly down at my watch - 31 something, nice I can work with that!  I begin taking the wetsuit off as I make the 100m (or so) run to transition.
2000 M Swim time - 32:09 (1:37/100m).


T1-
I find my bike, peel the wetsuit off the legs, grab some gels and salt pills for my rear shirt pockets, put the sunglasses on, helmet on, and go.
Time - 1:01


In T1, getting the wetsuit off.




BIKE -
Out of transition I hop on the bike and get moving.  After about 25 meters of riding, I slip my feet into my shoes which are already on my pedals. Usually on the first 10km of the bike, I can struggle to find a rhythm as my heart is usually racing from the swim.  Today, I seemed to get in the groove almost instantly.  It wasn't too long until I knew I was having a good ride.  The legs felt good, and was feeling comfortable.  I passed some guys on the way out, but not many were passing me.  Oh, I had another heave early on the bike ride, but this time it wasn't dry!  Apparently I ate one bite too many at breakfast   ;-)  No big deal, spit it out, felt better and kept riding.  Thankfully, this was the last of any heaves!
As I approached the turn around on the bike course, I was able to get an idea of where I was in the race. It was looking good.  I did a rough count of the guys going back ahead of me, and knew it was less than 20.  Stay calm, I thought.  There is along way to go.  When I made the turn, I glanced at my watch and it showed I was on pace for a 2:22ish bike split. This was more than I expected, so on the way back I just focused on staying fueled and relaxed.  I didn't want to get caught up in having a great bike time at the expense of a lousy run.  The ride back into town was good.  The wind did pick up, and was in our face or across the bike for most of the way, which added to the challenge.  I still felt that I was feeling good, and as the bike ended I was thinking - 'Man, I got a good one going today, I hope I haven't gone too hard?  How will my legs feel running?  Have I fueled well, or will cramps overtake my legs?   I approached transition again, took the feet out of the shoes, spotted my family cheering me in and coasted to the dismount line.
90KM Bike Time - 2:26:11 (36.9km/hr)

Heading out onto the bike.


T2 -
This was quick.  Rack the bike, remove the helmet, put on 1 sock, 1 shoe, repeat for the other foot, grab my hat, and go.
T2 - 00:47secs

Picture coming back in from the bike course.  A little wave to my family, as I navigate my way to the dismount line :)

Funny note - while I was in T2, I hear my brother shout to me, 'Bro you killed that bike, you're like up with pros!'.  I smiled, and quietly called him a loser, because - A) that's what brother do, and B) He was exaggerating and C) There was lots of racing yet to be done!

RUN-
I left transition, the legs felt good.  No pain, no cramps... this is good.  Early on I just tried to stay smooth.  I saw my coach and a few friends about 150m into the run, and they were yelling support.  Coach, reminded me to drink lots - "its hot out there, in case you hadn't noticed", she said with a smile.  The first couple km's of the run go around the park where the spectators hang out.  At about 2km, I was able to see all my family, and spotted Angela holding Brynlie (my daughter).  She held her hand out, and I was able to give her a wave and a high-five as I ran along - this was the highlight of the day for sure :-)

Just prior to giving the high-five, I get to wave to her and my family.


After about 4km or so, you leave the park and head out onto the roads.  The rest of the run is a straight out and back with several hills, hot pavement and no shade.  I knew it was only getting hotter, so I just wanted to keep moving and get it done.  I hit each aid station taking water all the way, and mixing it with flattened coke or Gatorade.  My stomach felt good and I was maintaining a pretty good groove.  When I hit some of the steeper hills my lower back got tight.  This isn't fun, but I just shortened my stride, attempted to use my arms, and kept the feet turning over.   I hit the run turnaround, and had managed not to do any walking so far.  It was hot.  I took a couple of salt pills and washed them down with water at the next aid station, to stay proactive - I was afraid I would have leg cramps in this heat, as I have in past hot races (this doesn't happen to everyone, but it is the case for me).  As I made the way back to the finish I took encouragement knowing that it was shorter, because the turnaround was at about the 13km mark.  On the way back the hills did not get easier.  My back was not enjoying it, but I had to keep moving.  I saw lots of runners going out the other way, and many were looking spent.  Lots of people were suffering in the heat, and walking.  I didn't want to give in.  Press on.  No walking, I actually never really considered it.
I spotted a few of my friends on the run course and we tried to share support with each other as we made our way.  Kilometers 19 and 20 were the toughest.  The last couple of hills to manage and so being close, but not done yet.  I pushed through, and finally felt the lift from hitting the home stretch.  As I approached the park, I spotted my dad, who upon seeing me, began running back to the finish line to let the others know of my arrival (and to see my actual finish).  I rounded the last corner, down the finish chute, and crossed the line to feel the sweet joy of finishing.  I looked up at the clock, and saw 4:37xx, and knew I had completed a big PB (personal best).  My previous best on this course was a 4:53, so upon crossing the line, it was great to share the moment with all of my family; especially my wife and daughter who gladly support me day after day, so I can put together weeks upon weeks of solid training.  I couldn't do it without their support!
21.1KM Run Time- 1:37:28 (4:38/km)

FINISH TIME - 4:37:34
17th Overall, 5th in my Age Group....  and already getting Brynlie used to having a medal around her neck! :-)





Overall, it was a great day.  Prior to the race, I had set out A/B/C goals times or standards that I thought might be possible.  I won't share them all, but the 'A' finish time I wrote out, was a 4:35.  I thought on a really good day I might be able to hit that, but actually thought a 4:40-4:45 was more likely.  I missed that 'A' standard by about 2 and half minutes, and but thats o.k. with me.  It was a hot day, and given some of my previous bad heat races, I'm pleased with the execution.  Is there room for improvement?  You bet.  I could have rode quicker, but I wasn't willing to risk it at the expense of a lousy run.  I'll keep work'n the bike lots.  I know I have more run fitness to be gained, so that will be a focus over the next 4 more months of solid training before Ironman Florida as well.  
Thanks for taking the time to read this, and also for the support from my family and friends!

Jon

PS - Sorry this was so long - the good news is, next weeks race is a shorter distance and is also my last one for a while! ;-)