Well its the day before my first race of 2010, and like most pre-race days, its pretty uneventful. Just relaxing around the house, and getting my things together. Going to be heading out in a few hours to go down to the race and pick up my bib number and timing chip. My uncle will be joining me as well, as he is already into another calendar year of monster races (he's already done a half marathon in Feb... and I've lost track of how many times he's done this race now).
My preparation for this race was thrown a bit, as I missed 12 days earlier this month with sickness. I have also been focusing on the bike over the past several months, as this race was never an 'A' priority race for me. That being said, I never get to the start line not wanting to give my best and push myself, so it will be interesting to see where I am at, and get a bench mark for this time of year. Last year when I ran this race, it was entirely different, as I was almost solely doing run focused training. As a result, it ended up being my best race of the year, setting a PB of 2:11xx).
This year, my stretch goal is to go 2:15. I don't think I've done enough work to set a PB, and think I'll have all I can do to hit 2:15. My plan is to go out on that pace, and run the first 10km with my head! Meaning that I will assess as I go, and if the pace is far to hard, I will have to back off a bit (you can't fake a 30km run), if I go out too fast, I'll end up in the ditch ;-) If I think I have a chance to hold the pace, then I'll try and hold on for dear life!
Sounds like it could be a cool day, and possibly a wet one with rain in the forecast. That's one of the great things about racing - no 2 races are ever the same. I've been racing for a number of years now, but it still gets the blood flowing just thinking about being at the start line. You just never know, how the body will perform on a given day, and testing your limits is half the fun of the race!
Gotta Strive,
Jon
No comments:
Post a Comment